WRITTEN QUESTION TO THE MINISTER FOR THE ENVIRONMENT BY DEPUTY R.J. WARD OF ST. HELIER QUESTION SUBMITTED ON MONDAY 20th SEPTEMBER 2021 ANSWER TO BE TABLED ON TUESDAY 28th SEPTEMBER 2021

Question

Will the Minister advise what criteria were used to select members of the recently formed Carbon Neutral Steering Group?

Answer

The Minister, with the agreement of the Chief Minister, requested the formation of a Carbon Neutral Steering Group (CNSG/the Group) which was to be comprised of both executive and non-executive members of the Assembly. The CNSG would be required to work at pace over the summer recess to provide a steer with which to direct the drafting of the Preferred Strategy which would feed into the Carbon Neutral Roadmap.

As the Island Plan programme is progressing at pace alongside the climate emergency programme, the Minister requested that their Assistant Minister, Deputy Guida, chair the group on their behalf.

Membership of the CNSG was determined using the following criteria:

- It was considered best that the Group did not include members of the Environment, Housing and Infrastructure Panel as they will be required to scrutinise its work.
- As the journey to Carbon Neutrality will cross many portfolios, it was recognised that it was important to engage with a multitude of ministries and that the Group would be a useful vehicle with which to do so. The following ministries were identified:
 - i. Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture.
 - ii. Treasury and Resources.
 - iii. Infrastructure.
 - iv. Environment.
- It was deemed important that the membership of the Group include experienced scrutineers who could provide critical and constructure feedback.
- It was recognised that the Group should seek the views of the parishes where possible as they will play a crucial role in addressing climate change.
- The Group would seek gender balance where possible.

Based on the above criteria and the constraints on availability over the summer recess, the Group was ultimately comprised of the following members:

- Executive
- Assistant Minister for the Environment, Deputy Guida (Chair).
- Minister for Infrastructure, Deputy Kevin Lewis.
- Assistant Minister for Treasury and Resources, Deputy Lindsay Ash.
- Assistant Minister for Economic Development, Tourism, Sport and Culture, Deputy Morel.

Non-executive

- Chair of the Comité des Connétables, Constable Mezbourian.
- Chair of the Economic and International Affairs Scrutiny Panel, David Johnson.